Ostara Ritual 2016

20160320_192222
After the ritual, I offered the sacrifices to nature.

This year, I prepared for Ostara by coloring three eggs in the symbolic colors of the three kindreds – or as close as possible. The egg for the Shining Ones was colored pink, decorated with birds, and had the word “Sky” written on it. For the Ancestors, the egg was colored blue, had images of butterflies, and the word “Sea”. The Nature Kin had a green egg decorated with land animals, like bunnies and sheep, and the word “Land.” The colors of the eggs appear faded in the picture, however.

I made my own ritual, inspired by ADF rituals. I cannot say if it was a proper ADF ritual or not, seeing as I have not fully studied the topic, but I went with my best guess. I honored the Celtic pantheon, focusing on Brigid, goddess of spring. The ritual was focused around one of the first chants I ever learned:

“Earth my body,/Water my blood,/Air my breath and/Fire my spirit.”


Elements Chant

 

20160320_192438
My shrine after the ritual, before putting out the flame.

After grounding and balancing myself, I stated the intent of the ritual, I opened the gates, and invoked the kindreds using appropriate words with a similar beat/melody as the elements chant. I then told the kindreds what I knew of Ostara. I spoke of the spring equinox and Eostre, then acknowledged that today I am honoring Brigid. Most of what I spoke about and explained can be found in my post “Holy Day of Ostara”. I then went on to describe the weather’s recent pattern of a seemingly early and prepared Spring turned cold and winter-like again with last night’s snow. It reflected my preparedness with today’s ritual. I studied the history and traditions of Ostara well ahead of time, but only just made and organized the ritual earlier today.

I went on to the sacrifices. I offered the pink egg and anointed it with dragon’s blood oil, then held it over my candle for the Shining Ones. I took the green egg and a flower from the early warm days and offered it to the Nature Spirits. Finally, I took the blue egg and my chalice of ale, anointed the egg with ale and offered them to the Ancestors. I drank the rest of the drink, meditating on the chant and the season of Ostara. After, I offered thanks to the three kindred and closed the gates. I then went out and offered my sacrifices to nature.

Seeing as I am writing this immediately after my ritual, I am feeling invigorated. I am in awe of the turning of the wheel and change in weather and nature. Spring is my favorite season, as the warmer weather brings my spirits back to life and fills me with joy and energy. I am happy, calm, and at peace with everything around me. It is a serene feeling that I wish to revisit time and time again.

Until next time.

One thought on “Ostara Ritual 2016

Leave a comment